Julie’s No Rules Friday: Path of Pins, Path of Needles

From the archives, I bring you a poem that shows my love for the Little Red Riding Hood tale:

Path of Pins, Path of Needles

Over the pins and
through the woods
to Grandmother’s house:

My feet ached
to meet you, your
coat a rampant

needlepoint design.
They said your breath
stank of meat;

you smelled like
musk and
mint. Your long muzzle

pointed North, where
the two paths met.
We left Grandmother

far behind, gobbled
up the bread; I
tossed away

my red cap.
Your paws left
bloody prints:

The needles, you
explained. My cap
staining the bushes, my

cloak spreading
behind. The trail
of blood, dabs

in the dust.
I love you so,
I could eat you.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Stay tuned for Anne’s answer to the “Crystallize” prompt next week. Follow us on Twitter to get updates and news. We’re also on Tumblr. Like us on Facebook.

One thought on “Julie’s No Rules Friday: Path of Pins, Path of Needles

  1. Very nice, Julie!

Leave a Reply

