Audrey’s Cimmerian Tales Book Club

I love books. As children, we often become very attached to specific books that we connect to during special times in our lives. From Where the Wild Things Are to The Witch of Blackbird Pond, I was always on the lookout for a new book to love; some of my favorite memories are of discovering new books at the library or at Tattered Cover.  There is something about the promise of a good story wedged between the covers of a book that thrills me still, but it all started with my favorite childhood tales. So, I thought it would be fun to suggest some books based off of a childhood favorite of mine:

.theowlandthepussycate

“The Owl and the Pussycat” by Edward Lear.  I  like the Little Golden Books edition because I think Ruth Sanderson did a beautiful job with the illustrations.  As a parent, I enjoy reading from my old, worn copy to my child and have him delight in the same pictures that thrilled me when I was his age. “The Owl and the Pussycat” is a love story.  Where some people might see a silly poem, I believe the characters make some strong and daring decisions like running away and sailing the world together before (gasp) they are even married.  But maybe it was the only way to be together because I doubt Pussycat’s parents were thrilled about her falling in love with an owl, or a musician. They probably wanted her to settled down with a boring Persian banker or American Shorthair lawyer. If this book appealed to you as a young child, you may also like:

thetrueconfessionsof

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi. Another thrilling sea-voyage, but with a lot less romance. Charlotte, a thirteen year old girl, ends up making the crossing between England and American without (gasp) a chaperone.  She finds herself wedged between the cruel Captain Jaggery and the mutinous crew of the Seahawk and she makes choices that change her from a girl into a woman. Luckily, she has a journal to record her adventures. If you like this book, you might also enjoy:

thesecrethistory

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig. This is hands down the best romance I have ever read (and I have read quite a few). What I love the most is that the adventure and the romance flow seamlessly together and you never feel like one or the other is sacrificed. Full of espionage of the Edwardian era variety, the story follows the tangled relationship of Amy Belcourt and Lord Richard Selwick as they navigate the waters of the Napoleonic Wars. The result is a tale that satisfies the adventure-seeking and romance-loving reader.

I hope you enjoyed my recommendations and I would love to hear what some of your favorite childhood books are!

About Audrey Goshorn

I'm a writer of (mostly YA) sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal fiction. Also, I can make paper snowflakes with dinosaurs in them.

Leave a Reply

