“You Will Hear Thunder” by Anna Akhmatova Inspires Audrey

YouWillHearThunder_AnnaAkhmatova

Things We Say

May 27th, 2076

Top Hat Island

Kyppa. You better be home in 10 minutes!!!

Mom

o . O . o

May 28th, 2076

Top Hat Island

Kyppa,

It’s half an hour past curfew. Where are you?

Mom

o . O . o

May 28th, 2076

Top Hat Island

I had to hear from the police chief, Kyppa. Everyone else said goodbye to their parents and I had to hear from him.  It’s just so typical of you to sneak off in the night. What were you thinking?

Mom

o . O . o

May 29th, 2076

Top Hat Island

I’m sorry, Kyppa. I didn’t mean what I said, any of it. I’m sorry. Please, Kyppa, please don’t this. Please come home.

I love you,

Mom

o . O . o

May 30th, 2076

Top Hat Island

Kyppa, I’m begging you. I have no idea where you are. I have no idea if you’re in the country or even on the planet. Please, please just let me know that you’re okay.

Please. I love you,

Mom

o . O . o

May 30th, 2076

Top Hat Island

Hi Kyppa,

Mom really needs to know that you’re alive and stuff. Can you write back so she tops bugging me. This sucks.

Whatevs,

Ollion

o . O . o

June 1st, 2076

Top Hat Island

Dear Kyppa,

I would very much like to know that you are okay. But I want you to know that I understand why you left. I understand not wanting to be in this place when all it’s meaning was gone. I just wish you had latched on to a different cause. I just don’t want to lose you. And I hate the way we left things, our angry words just hanging in the air. The way you looked me, Kyppa, like I had taken everything away from you… I never wanted you to feel that way. I just wanted you safe and happy and now I’ve ruined it for all of us. I’m so sorry, Kyppa.

I love you,

Mom

o . O . o

June 1st, 2076

McMurdo Training Base

Hey Ollion!

You wouldn’t believe how awesome Antarctica is!!! I feel like I’m in a snow globe. I haven’t seen any penguins yet but I will send you a pic if I find any. Tomorrow we start our dive training so we don’t get freaked when they shoot us into the cold, dark void of space. But you know me. I got this. I’ll let you know if Fryzz loses it.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

P.S. Tell mom to stop. I’m soooo not in the mood.

o . O . o

June 4th, 2076

Top Hat Island

Hi Kyppa,

I’m glad you got there safe and all, but I’m not getting between you mom. You didn’t ask, but Rox’s funeral was today. We buried him in the far corner of the cemetery underneath that giant pine tree you guys used to climb and watch the whales from. It drizzled and the wind was blowing in the air from the Sound. I get that you couldn’t be there, but I wanted you to know that I was or something. This is weird writing to you…

Whatevs,

Ollion

o . O . o

June 20th, 2076

McMurdo Training Base

Hey Ollion,

You wouldn’t believe what the dives are like. We wear dry suits so we don’t freeze but it’s like moving with a wet balloon dragging you down. It’s a different world. Fryzz totally panicked and surfaced too fast. Needless to say that had to tranquilize him before they could get him into the recompression chamber. You know he hates tight places. I think he’ll be home soon. Probably they’ll send him to the local base to do ground control. I think that’s what he wanted anyways. Well I’m going to go toast him with the guys. I’ll be in the sub for a couple weeks. No communication.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

P.S.  Are you going to play football this year?

o . O . o

July 1st, 2076

Top Hat Island

Hi Kyppa,

I hope you’re safe. Fryzz is all settled at the base. He really likes it. He may even chart a mission for you guys one day. In the meantime, I think he’s lonely and feels weird hanging out with us kids. The whole island’s just quiet since “the enlistment” (Mr. Tanaki’s words, not mine). I don’t know how you could do it, you know? I feel so rooted here and now more than ever. There are things… Nevermind. If you wanted to think about home, you would tell me… Right?

Whatevs,

Ollion

o . O . o

October 4th, 2076

McMurdo Training Base

Listen Ollion,

I’m really glad you’re keeping Fryzz company, but I don’t want to know about who’s baking apple pies or going to the Homecoming dance together. OK? I mean I care but it’s too distracting. I can’t be here and there and so I’m here. The end. Sorry. Tomorrow I go to space.

I miss you. Just so you know.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

P.S. Football?!?!?!

o . O . o

October 10th, 2076

Top Hat Island

No Kyppa, you listen! I’m not playing football. I have my hands full. Do you even know what you did to mom? I know I said I was staying out of it, but the truth is I was never out of it. I’m the one who has to see that look in mom’s eyes everyday. So go to space! Go fight the damn aliens! Just leave us out of it.

o . O . o

January 29th, 2077

J.Y. Simpson Space Base

Hey Ollion,

I’m sorry. You always get the short end of the stick don’t you?

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

o . O . o

March 6th, 2077

J.Y. Simpson Space Base

Mom,

I know it’s been awhile. Is Ollion okay?

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

o . O . o

March 6th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Kyppa!

It’s nice to hear from you. Really, really nice. Are you doing okay? And your friends? Can I send you anything? Ollion is just really busy with school and University applications. He’s worried about leaving me, but I’m trying to convince him that it’s okay. Everyone has to grow up sometime, right? I miss you.

Love,

Mom

o . O . o

March 8th, 2077

J.Y. Simpson Space Base

Hey Mom,

So he’s really mad at me, huh? I guess I deserve it. I know it’s hard for you both to understand why I’m here, why I want to fight. I don’t always understand either, but it’s like all I can do is breathe, dream, and think training. Have you ever been so sure you were meant to be a part of something? This is big, Mom. I’m shipping out officially in ten days. Yorgie and Mas are in my unit and I don’t see the others much anymore. Maybe when we get home, we’ll get to hang out like the old days. I don’t want to burden you, but if you can send me Rox’s leather jacket in time. Well, I guess I would really like to have it.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

o . O . o

March 8th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Hello Kyppa,

The jacket is on its way. Please stay safe. I miss you so much it’s hard to breathe. I know I shouldn’t tell you things like that. I should tell you that I’m proud and, Kyppa, I am proud, but it’s not the same as holding you and knowing you’re safe.

Love,

Mom

o . O . o

March 30th, 2077

U.S.S. Aquarius AM23

Hey Mom,

I got the jacket. It still smells like him. Thanks for sending it. I’m heading out to Caulgor IV, some frozen moon that has a bunch of minerals that we need. It’s not exactly the frontline but it’s close. I’ll be careful so don’t worry. And Mom, I’m sorry about everything I said and I’m sorry for not saying goodbye.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

o . O . o

March 30th, 2077

U.S.S. Aquarius AM23

Hey Ollion,

I’m heading to some far off rock to fight the Kuur. I hear you’re looking at schools. University of Washington is close to home. I think I’ll go there when I get back. I’m really sorry for the crap way I left. Thanks for taking care of Mom. I owe you one. I miss you.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

o . O . o

March 31st, 2077

Top Hat Island

All is forgiven, Kyppa. I’ll see you soon.

Love,

Mom

o . O . o

May 5th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Hey Kyppa,

So am I just supposed to forget what a coward you were for leaving?

Whatevs,

Ollion

o . O . o

May 5th, 2077

Caulgor IV

Hey Ollion,

I don’t expect that. I do hope you can forgive me someday. I’d write more but I can hear the Kuur from my foxhole. They sound like air coming from a orca blowhole, a burst of air and then their fire falls from the sky hot enough to melt the rocks. But they can die, you just have to be close. Don’t tell Mom that. I’m sure she heard about Mas. We didn’t even have anything to send home to his family. Don’t tell Mom that either. I’ll write soon.

♥♥ Kyppa♥♥

o . O . o

May 6th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Hey Kyppa,

Are you ok?

Ollion

o . O . o

May 8th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Hello Kyppa,

It’s been a couple of days since we heard from you. How are things?

Love,

Mom

o . O . o

May 10th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Ok Kyppa,

I forgive you ok? Just please let me know that you’re still out there. Mom’s starting to freak.

Miss you,

Ollion

o . O . o

May 30th, 2077

Top Hat Island

Hey Kyppa,

I received Rox’s jacket today. Two young sergeants brought it along with their condolences. Oh, Kyppa, I’m so sorry I never got to see you again, never got to see your face light up instead of being crumpled in anger and pain. There are some things a mother cannot protect her child from. I know that but I can’t accept it. Did you die alone, Kyppa? I’m so sorry.

Love,

Mom

o . O . o

May 5th,  2083

Mom?

I’m so cold…

~*~*~*~*~
For more poems by Anna Akhmatova, please read her collections online or at your local library. Poem © Copyright, Anna Akhmatova 1985. English translation by D. M. Thomas. All rights reserved.

Stay tuned for extra content this week from Anne. Read our group discussion and special content next week. Join us every Monday next month when we post four more tales on a new prompt.

About Audrey Goshorn

I'm a writer of (mostly YA) sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal fiction. Also, I can make paper snowflakes with dinosaurs in them.

One thought on ““You Will Hear Thunder” by Anna Akhmatova Inspires Audrey

  1. Is Kyppa in the Matrix? It’s only been six years, she could totally go home still. Totally.

Leave a Reply

