Audrey’s Cimmerian Tales Book Club

A couple months ago, I was scouring through the YA section of my annual library book sale when I discovered Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway. Obviously I had to have it because how often do you find a book with your name in the title? If your name were Audrey, then your answer would be pretty much never. Anyways, I loved the book and I hope you’ll give it a read as well.

9781595141927About the book:

Audrey, Wait! is the story of 16 year old Audrey Cuttler who dumps her musician boyfriend and then has to deal with the embarrassing, hilarious, and crazy fame inducing consequences when her ex’s song about their break-up becomes a worldwide phenomenon. Paparazzi, reporters, and high school drama plague Audrey but she’ll do whatever it takes to get her life back.

My Comments:

I thought the book was charming and funny with an original story idea. I enjoyed the characters a lot, especially Audrey at her most sarcastic and James at his most adorkable. I thought Robin did a great job writing a YA novel and staying current without trying too hard to sound like she was writing for teens. I actually did laugh out loud (reminded me of the humor of Sophie Kinsella – who I also love).  The pacing was really perfect. At the beginning of every chapter, Robin put a quote from a song. I haven’t done it yet but I think it would be fun to make a playlist of those songs and read the book with the music. The chapters are fairly short so I think it would work. Let me know if you’ve tried this.

About the Author:

Robin Benway is the author of Audrey, Wait!, The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May & June, and the Also Known As series. Her newest book, Going Rogue (AKA series) came out yesterday. You can find out all about her on her blog robinbenway.com, but she loves making paper snowflakes like me, which is pretty awesome.

My Favorite Quote:

“He looked like someone’s proud grandparent. “Audrey, this is Mr. Farris.” When I didn’t say anything, Ron continued. “He’s the regional sales manager for all the Scooper Doopers across the country. You know, Mr. Farris?”

I don’t know about you, but if I ever became a regional sales manager for the Scooper Dooper franchise, I’d try to pinpoint where my life went so wrong.”

About Audrey Goshorn

I'm a writer of (mostly YA) sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal fiction. Also, I can make paper snowflakes with dinosaurs in them.

Leave a Reply

