Jen’s Book Club

About a month ago I went on the hunt for some queer YA novels. I’d love to see more LGBTQ elements in the genre, and I wanted to know what I may not have come across in my normal book browsing. I think I probably exhausted Google, but I complied a list of a titles and thank goodness for Christmas giftcards, because they’re now sitting on the tip of my TO READ pile.  I’m totally addicted to the first one that showed up at my door, Emma Trevayne’s Coda.

9780762447282_p0_v2_s260x420

From Amazon.com:

Ever since he was a young boy, music has coursed through the veins of eighteen-year-old Anthem—the Corp has certainly seen to that. By encoding music with addictive and mind-altering elements, the Corp holds control over all citizens, particularly conduits like Anthem, whose life energy feeds the main power in the Grid.

Anthem finds hope and comfort in the twin siblings he cares for, even as he watches the life drain slowly and painfully from his father. Escape is found in his underground rock band, where music sounds free, clear, and unencoded deep in an abandoned basement. But when a band member dies suspiciously from a tracking overdose, Anthem knows that his time has suddenly become limited. Revolution all but sings in the air, and Anthem cannot help but answer the call with the chords of choice and free will.

Coda is everything I like to see in fiction. Bright, complex characters, a world built on something strong and beating, and enough internal and external conflict to keep me up at night.

What titles have you excited right now? Is there anything you’d like to see more of in YA?

About jenwritesthings

Lover of gummi bears, puppies, and rain. I write things. Usually YA fantasy things.

One thought on “Jen’s Book Club

  1. jwrites says:

    This is a great link for more info about queer YA–both on what it does, and some lists of works to check out: http://writingwithcats.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/to-authors-writing-young-adult-literature-with-lgbtqia-characters/

Leave a Reply

