Anne’s No Rules Friday 11

Poem inspired by Jen’s The Flight.

Take-off

We race into the wind
It twists my loose hair into raven knots.
My sciathán‘s hooves beat a rhythm
Against the packed earth.
Thump-thump
Thump-thump
Freedom is a heartbeat.

My mount’s warm and sturdy
Her muscles bunch under my thighs.
Heather and clover dance
Through the air.
Snap-snap
Snap-snap
Kyanite’s feathers unfurl.

We leap into the sky
I twine fingers through her ivory mane.
Mist cools my face in a caress
As we rise higher.
Thump-thump
Thump-thump
Our hearts beat as one.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Stay tuned for Julie’s No Rules Friday in two weeks.

About Anne ♥ Marie

YA author-in-training and servant of folklore and myths from around the world. I love great white sharks, languages, and the impossible.

2 thoughts on “Anne’s No Rules Friday 11

  1. I am so jealous you can write poetry! It’s a skill that eludes me completely.

    I really like the rhythm you’ve created (I read it out loud and it sounds AWESOME) and the imagery. Killer last line as well. 🙂

    • Oh, it eludes me too. I spent 3 weeks crafting this. Fake it ’til you make it. LOL Also, I’m so so so happy you caught the rhythm. That’s pretty much all I was trying to get across. *fwew*

      For real poetry, check out any of the other ladies’ stuff. It’s inspiring.

Leave a Reply

