Jen’s Book Club

I just recently finished my subject for this week’s book club. For the fifth time.

Before I unveil the title, I would like to tell you why my heart is sunk deep into this novel.

I like it because it’s harsh. I like it because it promotes weirdness. I like it because parts of it are so heartbreakingly true that I had to close it to wipe my leaking eyeballs. I might have been crying. I might have been laughing. I don’t cry and tell.

Harsh. Weird. True. Heartbreaking. Funny.

That about sums up John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.

11870085

From Goodreads:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Okay you guys, yes it’s a love story and a beautiful star-crossed one at that, but it’s also about facing the multifaceted agonies of death. It’s unexpectedly raw and unassuming. John Green doesn’t make death out to be something that is full of strength and courage; he makes it real. He makes it hurt because it does, and in his own words, “it hurts because it matter(s).” This is true in love and loss and life, and that’s what you get in this gorgeous novel.

Pick it up. Try not to cry. I dare you.

 

About jenwritesthings

Lover of gummi bears, puppies, and rain. I write things. Usually YA fantasy things.

One thought on “Jen’s Book Club

  1. I’m a total crier, but I’ll add it to my reading list.

Leave a comment